Posted on

The Life-Changing Magic of Instructional Videos

Are you in a research funk? Sometimes, it is hard to know where to start when beginning the research project. Likewise, the research process can easily become daunting. The D’Youville College Library wants to help make the research process straightforward and easy for you, which is why we created a new page within our website to help you find instructional video tutorials.

Who doesn’t love watching videos? Sometimes an instructional video is the easiest way to learn something new in regards to research. We have created a series of instructional videos that highlight search techniques for a variety of our library resources, including several of our most used databases. We have also designed several instructional tutorials on how to use Spartan Search to conduct research. In addition, we have curated YouTube video playlists for many of our library resources to help further assist you with all of your academic research ventures. You don’t have to figure it out on your own. We are here to help!

Continue reading “The Life-Changing Magic of Instructional Videos”
You already voted!
Posted on

Is that journal peer reviewed? Find out with this easy to use resource!

Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory provides authoritative information about serials published worldwide. It covers all disciplines and types of serial publications including journals, newspapers, newsletters and more.

The D’Youville community can now access this comprehensive listing of publications from the library’s A – Z database directory page.

Quickly retrieve information about publications by searching for the title or browsing subject categories. The advanced search interface also gives you a number of options to filter your searches so that you can easily find peer reviewed journals or find by format, content type, circulation type and more.

A referee jersey appears on the search results next to journals that are peer reviewed making it easy to find the best academic journals. You can also limit searches to refereed journals making it even easier to locate scholarly titles.

This is the icon for peer reviewed!

Need help figuring out where to search to find articles from a particular journal? Look no further – each title record in Ulrich’s contains information about where the title is indexed and what databases contain the full text of the publication. Ulrich’s also includes a basic description of the publication, audience information, circulation data, reviews and more.

Title Record

Whether you are a student writing a research paper or a faculty member looking to publish your research, Ulrich’s is your go to guide for publications.

You already voted!