Are you graduating soon? It is time to figure out which library resources you will still have access to after graduation. The library provides thousands of resources to the D’Youville University community. Upon graduation, you will lose access to all of the online databases the library provides to you as a student. Many online resources are not freely available, so the library spends a high percentage of our budget per year to provide access to online resources for the college community and sadly, these benefits do not extend to student once they have graduated.
The D’Youville Library Database Detail highlights electronic resources from our collection. It covers the basic features of a selected resource including its strengths and scope with links to tutorials and related resources. This Database Detail covers Proquest Central a comprehensive, multidisciplinary database.
What is it good for?
Proquest Central is a good for a little bit of everything. As a multidisciplinary resource it covers 175 subject areas from business to religion and everything in between. It also contains more magazine and newspaper full text than any of the other databases in the D’Youville Library collection. It has an easy to use interface for a Google like search experience, but has many advanced options that allow you to focus searches by date, format and document type.
The D’Youville Library Database Detail highlights electronic resources from our collection. It covers the basic features of a selected resource including its strengths and scope with links to tutorials and related resources. This Database Detail covers Academic Search Complete from Ebsco.
What is it good for?
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database covering all types of formats including ebooks, journal, magazine and newspaper articles. It is a great resource for finding material like interviews and reviews from non-academic resources such as magazines and newspapers.
Who should use it?
Undergraduate students writing a viewpoint articles, biographies, or seeking primary sources will find this an excellent resource. It is easy to find editorial pieces from major publications and reviews of all types of media from books to movies and more. Not all of the material is considered scholarly but it does contain some literary criticism.
Search Options
Includes popular search limiters such as full text and scholarly journals.
More specialized limiters allow you to narrow your searches by publication type (magazines, newspapers, primary source, etc..) and document type (book review, case study, editorial, film review, interview, literary criticism and many more).
Tutorials
This database is published by Ebsco and has a similar interface to many of the databases in the library. While it looks the same, the content searched is slightly different and includes search limiters that reflect this content. Please view the general Ebscohost search tutorial for basic search tips.
Learn More
Take a look at the Ebsco profile page for this resource. It contains a complete list of journal coverage, subject strengths and comparisons to some similar databases. h
The library is running a short trial of three major medical databases from Wolters Kluwer- Ovid, the leading medical research platform for medical professionals. These comprehensive resources are different from many of our journal based databases and include videos, case studies, diagnostic tests, textbooks and more.
Great for all of our medical disciplines, take a look today and let us know if we should purchase for the future.
The library has a multitude of online content you can add to your class without having to worry about copyright or other restrictions. We have a little bit of everything including journal articles, ebooks and streaming videos from a variety of disciplines. It is all free for you to use in your class.
Linking to some of our resources can be confusing though. Licensing, authentication and DRM make linking to library material harder than bookmarking a web site. Many of our databases create temporary urls that only exist during the search session. Grabbing the link will take others to an error message.
