Tips, Tools and Tutorials from the D'Youville Library
Are any of these common problems stopping you from starting that persuasive research paper?
– not sure what to write about
– don’t understand the topic you have selected
– too many search results
– finding opinions from questionable sources
These problems are common, but we have a solution.
Continue reading “This library resource can give you everything you need to write a great persuasive research paper.”
The research process usually starts with topic selection. This topic is usually a broad idea or concept that has to narrowed down to a more manageable topic
Continue reading “Select your next research topic with the help of our Publication Finder.”
Research instruments are used to collect, measure and analyze data. They are often used for research in the health sciences. You may be searching for an instrument to use for an upcoming research project but are unsure which one to use.
One way to learn more about research instruments is to use the CINAHL database. It contains short fact sheets for many research instruments.
Continue reading “A simple method for finding instruments for your research project.”
Did you ever bookmark an article in one of our databases and later find that the link does not work? Have you tried to send a link to someone by copying and pasting the address from the browser, but finding out the link only lead to an error message?
Continue reading “Why don’t my links to articles in the library databases work?”
Knowing where to search is one of the most intimidating things about using the library resources. Finding the database that has the best quality resources can take time that you don’t have. There are over 100 databases in the D’Youville Library collection, each one with a different focus. Going through each database would take too much time – the kind of time it might take to sort through 4 million results on Google.
The D’YouSearch database will not only help you find great articles, but it can also lead you to other great resources. This guide will show you how to use the D’YouSearch “Database” filter to find additional databases for your research.
Continue reading “Looking for the best research database? Use this tool to find one that is right for your search!”
